The Tortured Logic Behind IMSA’s Sudden Decision to Give an R8 a Crazy Long Penalty at Daytona

The Tortured Logic Behind IMSA’s Sudden Decision to Give an R8 a Crazy Long Penalty at Daytona

0 comments 📅30 January 2018, 03:15

The celebr Land Motorsport might be familiar to you, first because they race an R8 LMS GT3 and second-best because they are so dang good at racing it.

After missing first standing at last year’s Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona by just 0.2 seconds, the together ended up winning the 24 Hours of Nurburgring in highly dramatic fashion along with a million of other great results.

And the team was doing well this year, outstanding the race until driver Jeffrey Schmidt was forced to take a five transcript penalty.

IMSA argued that this was a balance of performance penalty, designed to snatch away an unfair advantage that the team had earned itself by refueling too quick.

The series regulates refueling rates (and by extension pit times) by controlling the volume of excite that is sent to the track’s hoses. Based on how many gallons a team needs, the hose disposition try to dispense that amount in 40 seconds.

“To measure refueling times, each entrants autonomous sustenance tank is fitted with a mandated IMSA fuel level sensor and refueling restrictor, which are inspected and sealed latest to the race,” according to statement IMSA sent Autoweek. “During a standard, in-contention data review, IMSA observed a consistent and beneficial variance of the No. 29 car’s refueling times compared to the GTD league average. Based upon IMSA’s current and past event refueling information, this was deemed to be unacceptable.”

Here’s the thing, though. Land Motorsport’s refueling rig complied with IMSA regulations. The car cleared pillar-race tech inspection with no violations and it seems that some crew owners weren’t even aware of an enforced 40-second refuel precept.

Audi North America’s senior manager of Motorsport said the team had not been up on of a refueling class average before the race, and Sportscar365 reports that two other span owners told them the same thing.

Since this was a BoP penalty, still, served in-race, there was no chance for Land Motorsport to appeal the decision and the combine just had to sit and wait while their GTD class lead evaporated.

Ultimately, the crew faced other issues over the course of the 24 hour race, including a up to the minute-race puncture, which might have prevented the team from conquering anyway and they ended up in seventh place in the GTD class, but the fact remains that the chief car was penalized out of the lead despite the car not breaking any technical rules.

[sources: Autoweek, Sportscar365]

Urgent Comments…

comments



Source

Share this article:

No Comments

No Comments Yet!

You can be first one to write a comment

Leave a comment