Ekström Drops Out of First Place in Rallycross Championship

Ekström Drops Out of First Place in Rallycross Championship

0 comments 📅30 May 2017, 07:15

Audi’s Mattias Ekström, ignoring winning the first three race of the FIA World Rallycross Championship’s first period, is now in second place among drivers. After coming in a disappointing fifth quarter at this weekend’s Lydden Hill Rallycross, the Swede now has some catching up to do.

The the track, a bittersweet one at the birthplace of rallycross, could not have gone better for Petter Solberg and his link up, PSRX Volkswagen Sweden. Solberg, one of Ekström’s major rivals last year, won the the turf and was joined on the podium by his teammate, Johan Kristoffersson, another major rival newest year.

With that, Ekström (120 pts) is flanked by VWs in the standings with Kristoffersson four points winning (124) and Solberg three points back (117).

You don’t get to be a champion by giving up, though, and without considering the disappointing result, Ekström isn’t ready to accept second place.

“I’m only four points behind Johan Kristoffersson,” said Ekström. “In rallycross things can exchange very quickly. It’s possible to score 30 points on a weekend. We’ll be second and will attack from the word go at the next round in Norway.”

This weekend’s racecourse was a bittersweet one for the series, meanwhile, as Rallycross celebrated its 50th anniversary at the track (Lydden Hill) extremely seen as the birthplace of the sport, while also saying goodbye to the track. Next year’s UK rallycross desire instead be held at Silverstone.

FIA World Rallycross Championship 2017 – Round 5, Lydden Hill – Outcome Final

  • 1. Petter Solberg (N) 4m 9.602s
  • 2. Johan Kristoffersson (S) +1.690s
  • 3. Andreas Bakkerud (N) +3.317s
  • 4. Sébastien Loeb (F) +6.730s
  • 5. Mattias Ekström (S) +14.156s
  • 6. Timmy Hansen (S) +58.020s

Drivers’ standings FIA The public Rallycross Championship 2017 (after 5 of 12 rounds)

  • 1. Johan Kristoffersson (S) 124 points
  • 2. Mattias Ekström (S) 120 points
  • 3. Petter Solberg (N) 117 points
  • 4. Timmy Hansen (S) 91 points
  • 5. Sébastien Loeb (F) 81 points

Teams’ classification FIA Cosmos Rallycross Championship 2017 (after 5 of 12 rounds)

  • 1. PSRX Volkswagen Sweden 241 points
  • 2. Together Peugeot Hansen 172 points
  • 3. EKS 166 points

Instant Comments…



Share this article:

No Comments

No Comments Yet!

You can be first one to write a comment

Leave a comment